Day three…. Happy birthday to me! 

My alarm went off at 5:30am and I sprung out of bed. Today was the best day my God has given me…… he has allowed me 24,455 days or 67 years, which ever you prefer. I never imagined I would want to be 67…… until I turned 66. 

But today I’m celebrating! 

My clubs were ready and waiting for me this morning.

Today is my first time playing golf at Disney. My dear friend and golfing buddy, Ross and I had a 8:00am tee time at Lake Buena Vista Golf Club and this course was difficult…… but spectacular!   Even the driving range was challenging! We hit practice shots over water! I had never seen this before. 

Mickey knew I am a big Syracuse University football fan. They gave me cart number 44.

We were honored to be paired up to play with a true American hero on this day. He was a young man named Mark…. in his early 40’s….. that served two tours of duty in Iraq with the United States Army! The spoke briefly of the war horrors he witnessed once he learned that I was a veteran during the Vietnam War. We became instant friends and I hope we play golf again in the future.

When we came off the 18th green it started to rain and it rained harder as we got close to the pro shop. We parked our cart and the cast members came out and took care of our clubs while we got underundercover. The cold beer at the end of the round tasted really, really good! 

Ross and I said our goodbyes to the hero and jumped into a cab and returned to the Boardwalk Villas and waited for the girls and Sig to get back from shopping at Disney Springs. Sig treated the girls to a pearl necklace.

After they returned, we all went to the pool for a little cooling off and some adult beverages. We couldn’t stay long though because we had a 3:55 reservation at the ESPN Club and the food was great. After diner Patti was instructed to stop into the Boardwalk Bakery where Mickey  surprised me with a birthday cake. 

It was a great impromptu party on the Boardwalk. 

We all went to Epcot to see Herman’s Hermits at the American Garden Theater. It was a great show which brought back memories of when I was part of The Electric Trend back in the 60’s.

Sig and Lisa decided to walk back to the Boardwalk Villas and call it a day. Patti, Bonnie, Ross and I had fast passes for Frozen so we walked to Norway to see it. It was very well done. 

We waited to see Illuminations and enjoyed the show. It’s not as good as it was fifteen years ago, but it is still worth seeing. As we waited, we were treated with a beautiful view of Spaceship Earth. 

We walked back to the Boardwalk Villas and crashed. We were very tired.

I feel so blessed to have celebrated this birthday with special friends in my happy place.

Leave a Reply

