On Christmas, my thoughts turn to the past.

During the holiday season my thoughts always turn to my family, my friends and every Christmas I’ve been blessed to celebrate. It’s hard to believe that I’ve celebrated 65 of these as of this year. As you get older, the more you celebrate.

All of our family lives at least hundreds of miles from us so on Christmas day, it’s just the two of us.

Tomorrow we will drive to be with my son, daughter-in-law and grandkids (pictured below) for some much needed loving. We are excited to be with them and get all those hugs!
image

My memories of my childhood will always be special. But my Christmas memories of my time serving my country as a member of the USAF also stand out for some reason. Three out of four of those Christmas holidays were served working but I celebrated the day with my brothers and sisters in arms.

I also worked in a retail store in my hometown and vividly remember feeling like Santa’s helper as our customers sought out those last minute gifts. Once the doors were locked, we had our employee party. But one of the after parties really stands out in my memory more than others.

This year, my wife and I celebrated Christmas a little early with our wonderful trip to Walt Disney World from December 14th to the 19th.

I’m not saying our celebration is over…… but “our celebration together” was during that trip. We are most definitely looking forward to celebrating with family and friends in the next few days.

This morning I woke up in the arms of my best friend. Then we had coffee and minnie cinnamon buns. About an hour later we cooked breakfast of Mickey Waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage.
image

We enjoyed breakfast while watching Disney Parks Christmas Day Parade which has been a tradition for us.

After breakfast, we got ready and headed to the movie theater to watch the new Star Wars movie that we really enjoyed. Disney has incorporated scenes from this new movie into Star Tours at Disney’s Hollywood Studios.

We are now waiting on a ham dinner with all the trimmings which is cooking in the oven. We will get to bed at little early and prepare for the two and a half hour drive in the morning.

 

wp-1450500849523.jpeg

I would like to say thank you for reading this blog and I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts. I want to wish you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

 

 

image

Leave a Reply

