Writers block ???

As I sit here today staring at my computer, it’s like I’m in a fog. I love everything that Walt Disney has produced or influenced others to produce, but I feel like I’ve hit what’s known as writers block! And I never considered myself to be a writer!

I am a lover!

At least a lover of Walt Disney World.

But I have covered my favorite part of each park. I’ve talked about my best day at Walt Disney World. So what’s next? How can I come up with something new each time I feel the need to write?

How about some of Walt’s attractions at the Magic Kingdom.

Patti and I make it appoint to visit each one of Walt’s own designs one day during every trip. So lets take a look at them today.

My favorite attraction out of this group is one that makes Patti cringe. It’s the Country Bear Jamboree.

Get ready to tap your toes!
Get ready to tap your toes!

I am a retired drummer and my favorite band to perform with was a country group back in the 80’s called Bear Tracks. We opened and closed every show with an old blue grass tune called Old Slew Foot. And it is the tune that the cast plays at the end of the Country Bear Jamboree. Here’s a link with the lyrics. Try not to sing along as you read these!

Here’s a couple of pictures of the group. The first one is from way back when, (1982) and the second one is from last August when we all got together to celebrate the 50th anniversary of our lead singer and his bride. We don’t get together as often as we’d like. We live all over the country and it’s hard for some of us to travel.

From left to right..... Bob May, lead guitar, Paul Jones, Lead and rhythm guitar, Yours truly, Tom Henry, drums and vocals, Joe Barrett, bass and vocals.
From left to right….. Bob May, lead guitar, Paul Jones, vocals and rhythm guitar, Yours truly, Tom Henry, drums and vocals, Joe Barrett, bass and vocals.

 

Bear Tracks Brothers
Bear Tracks Brothers are together again!

Another favorite is the Carousel of Progress. The Carousel of Progress holds the record as the longest-running stage show, with the most performances, in the history of American theater. It is one of the oldest attractions in the whole Walt Disney World Resort. It is also one of the only attractions at Walt Disney World to have been touched by Walt Disney himself.

Carousel_of_Progress_Replica_Poster_(2736421721)

General_Electric_Carousel_of_Progress_1972

And how can we forget the Tiki Room? A virtually identical copy of the show, called Tropical Serenade, was installed at Walt Disney World’s Magic Kingdom when that park opened in 1971. My favorite part is when all the birds sing “Let’s All Sing Like the Birdies Sing”.  I can remember my mom singing this when I was little.  

1280px-Disneyland-EnchantedTikiRoom-sign

800px-Enchanted_Tiki_Room_at_Walt_Disney_World_Magic_Kingdom

I know you are going to hate me for the next one. It’s a Small World. The original title was to be “Children of the World” but the name was changed By Walt Disney after the Sherman Brothers wrote the song that stays in your mind forever. Wikipedia has said, “It is argued that this song is the single most performed and most translated piece of music on Earth”.

its-a-small-world-gallery09
Can you hear the tune playing over, and over and over?

Smallworldclock1015pm

So what are some of your favorites?

Contact me today and let me help make your trip to all Disney destinations special!
Contact me today and let me help make your trip to all Disney destinations special!
Leave a Reply

